Skip to main content
Order online, pick up your books at the store – we'll email you when they're here!
Close this alert
Between Us: A Novel

Between Us: A Novel

Current price: $18.99
Publication Date: August 8th, 2023
Publisher:
Avon
ISBN:
9780063117990
Pages:
384
Usually Ships to Store in 4 to 7 Days

Description

"The whole time I'm reading a Mhairi McFarlane novel, I feel like a fist is squeezing my heart… she is so ridiculously talented." Emily Henry 

International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane delivers a witty, clever, emotional new novel about a woman whose life unravels spectacularly after her screenwriter boyfriend uses their relationship as inspiration for his new television show.

When Roisin and Joe join their friends for a weekend at a country house, it’s a triple celebration—a birthday, an engagement, and the launch of Joe’s shiny new TV show. But as the weekend unfolds, tensions come to light in the group and Roisin begins to question her own relationship. And as they watch the first episode of Joe’s drama, she realizes that the private things she told him—which should have stayed between them—are right there on the screen.

With her friend group in chaos and her messy love life on display for the whole world to see, Roisin returns home to avoid the unwanted attention and help run her family’s pub. But drama still follows, in the form of her dysfunctional family and the looming question: what other parts of her now-ex’s show are inspired by real events? Lies? Infidelity? Every week, as a new episode airs, she wonders what other secrets will be revealed.

Yet the most unexpected twist of all is an old friend, who is suddenly there for Roisin in ways she never knew she needed…

About the Author

Sunday Times bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane was born in Scotland, and her unnecessarily confusing name is pronounced Vah-Ree. After some efforts at journalism, she started writing fiction and her first book, You Had Me At Hello, was an instant success. She's now written ten novels, and she lives in Nottingham with a man and a cat.

Praise for Between Us: A Novel

"Mhairi McFarlane writes with a singular wit, charm, and emotional complexity, every word just right, every page brimming with delicious tension." — Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Everything you want from a rom-com... she just gets better and better." — Jojo Moyes on Between Us

“Mhairi McFarlane’s voice is as clear as a bell—she makes you laugh, but she also makes you feel. I adore her!” — Sally Thorne, USA Today bestselling author of The Hating Game

"McFarlane’s distinct voice, mixing comedy with deep topics of manipulation and trust, never disappoints and will have readers eager for the next page. Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Emily Henry." — Library Journal (starred review)

"McFarlane's latest captures the dissolution of a romantic relationship with humor and emotional honesty. Readers will root for Roisin as she is torn between what Joe tells her and her niggling suspicions, and as she leans on her friends for help. This British charmer will appeal to Katherine Center fans." — Booklist

Mad About You offers sweetness and sass and a lesson that’s worthy of a film script.” — USA Today

“International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane’s empowering and hopeful romance Mad About You is sure to charm readers.” — Popsugar

“McFarlane’s dry wit and Briticism-laden prose will appeal to her many fans, and her heroine charms.” — Publishers Weekly on Mad About You 

"Her books are so emotionally intelligent and insightful."  — Tahereh Mafi

"McFarlane balances sensitive observations on love, death, and friendship with an intoxicating sense of humor as Eve imagines Susie’s witty asides in her head. Eve has a way with words and her ebullient narration delights... an engaging protagonist whose complex emotions keep the pages turning... [A] dynamic story of friendship, forgiveness, and finding love where it’s least expected..." — Publishers Weekly

“McFarlane has a charming voice, one distinctly British in its wry humor, whimsical turn of phrase, and vibrant sense of setting... the novel itself is a dizzy delight, bursting with rom-com tropes... If I Never Met You is quippy and warm, an escape in almost every sense of the word, and McFarlane’s irresistible voice that balances pathos and humor in equal measure leaves us wanting more.”  — Entertainment Weekly

"McFarlane is one of my all-time favorite writers now." — Emily Henry

“McFarlane strikes romantic comedy gold with this tale of reunited sweethearts who have to grapple with the past... deeply satisfying on several levels, and Lucas’s final romantic speech is one for the ages.. a beautiful balance of tenderness, wry humor, and deep emotion.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"McFarlane deftly balances the weight of grief and secrets with the lighthearted banter of both long friendships and surprising new connections. There is a romantic plot line, but the real love story will be between readers and Eve as she tries to figure out how to put her life back together, or if she even wants to. Charming, emotionally satisfying, and unforgettable."  — Booklist (starred review)

“Fun and engaging but with thought-provoking twists that deepen the emotional impact beyond light romantic comedy.” — Kirkus Reviews

"A  page-turner about a heroine with a laugh-out-loud voice, an endearing romance, and, as the British say, lashings of drama." — NPR

"The best romance novel protagonists make you feel empowered and better about yourself and the world than you did before you started reading. If I Never Met You's Laurie is that kind of protagonist." — Cosmopolitan (Best Romance Novels of 2020)

"[JUST LAST NIGHT] manages to be both genuinely heartbreaking and hilarious - that's how good Mhairi McFarlane is. It's a gorgeously romantic novel, as well as a story about friendship and grief and loss; I never wanted it to end." — Beth O’Leary, bestselling author of The Switch

"Honestly, I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... What a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!"  — Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of The Two Lives of Lydia Bird