Skip to main content
Order online, pick up your books at the store – we'll email you when they're here!
Close this alert
Missing Clarissa: A Novel

Missing Clarissa: A Novel

Current price: $18.99
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Publisher:
Wednesday Books
ISBN:
9781250801968
Pages:
256
Rozzie Bound Co-op
1 on hand, as of Feb 24 6:12pm
(Young Adult Fiction )
On Our Shelves Now

Description

Perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder, Ripley Jones's Missing Clarissa is a gripping novel about two friends who start a true crime podcast—with dangerous consequences.

In August of 1999, dazzlingly popular cheerleader Clarissa Campbell disappears from a party in the woods outside the rural town of Oreville, Washington and is never seen again. The police question her friends, teachers, and the adults who knew her—who all have something to hide. And thanks to Clarissa’s beauty, the mystery captures the attention of the nation. But with no leads and no body, the case soon grows cold. Despite the efforts of internet sleuths and true-crime aficionados, Clarissa is never found—dead or alive.

Over twenty years later, Oreville high-school juniors and best friends Blair and Cameron start a true crime podcast, determined to unravel the story of what—or who—happened to this rural urban legend. In the process they uncover a nest of dirty small-town secrets, the sordid truth of Clarissa’s relationship with her charismatic boyfriend, and a high school art teacher turned small-town figurehead who had a very good reason for wanting Clarissa dead. Such a good reason, in fact, that they might have to make him the highlight of their next episode…

But does an ugly history with a missing girl make him guilty of murder? Or are two teenage girls about to destroy the life of an innocent man—and help the true killer walk free?

About the Author

RIPLEY JONES is a person of interest.

Praise for Missing Clarissa: A Novel

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!
A 2024 Texas Tayshas Reading List Pick!

SHEREADS, “Most Anticipated YA Thrillers of 2023”

CRIMEREADS, “12 YA Mysteries, Thrillers, and Horror Novels to Check out in 2023”

EPIC READS, “The 12 Most Anticipated YA Books to Read in March”

POPSUGAR, "28 New Mystery Books That'll Have You on the Edge of Your Seat in March"

GOODREADS, "Most Anticipated YA"

BOOKRIOT, “YOUR GUIDE TO WINTER 2023 YA BOOKS: JANUARY-MARCH”

"Carefully crafted surprises, fair-play clues, and a satisfying narrative payoff propel
this gripping read." - Publishers Weekly

"Missing Clarissa is an entertaining, young adult mystery with an intriguing plot line...the premise is well done and appropriate within the boundaries of two teenage girls for delivering the story in Missing Clarissa. Fans of young adult mysteries will enjoy this one. I’m looking forward to seeing what’s next for this talented author." - Mystery & Suspense Magazine

“This is a really fun YA novel, with two intriguing characters, a well-written mystery, and a book you want to keep reading.” - Red Carpet Crash

"Missing Clarissa is a sharp, smart, compelling read. Ripley Jones has written a fascinating mystery that never lets the reader forget the people at its heart. A keen look at true crime and the ripples that absence leaves. I devoured this book." - Kat Howard, Alex Award-winning author of An Unkindness of Magicians

"Ripley Jones writes like a switchblade: quick, sharp, and straight to the jugular. This is the writer you've been waiting for. Ripley does not disappoint." - Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation and Deathless Divide