Skip to main content
Order online, pick up your books at the store – we'll email you when they're here!
Close this alert
Throwback

Throwback

Current price: $19.99
Publication Date: April 11th, 2023
Publisher:
Zando Young Readers
ISBN:
9781638930204
Pages:
368
Usually Ships to Store in 4 to 7 Days

Description

A Gen Z Korean American girl gets stuck in the '90s with her teenaged mother in this fresh, funny adventure full of heart, humor, and time-crossed romance. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Morgan Matson, and Nicola Yoon.

"No one can blend family, humor, satire, and love into a single perfect story like Maurene Goo can." --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

"Funny and big-hearted, romantic, and delightfully unexpected in the best way." --Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Instructions for Dancing

Being a first-generation Asian American immigrant is hard. You know what's harder? Being the daughter of one.

Priscilla is first-generation Korean American, a former high school cheerleader who expects Sam to want the same all-American nightmare. Meanwhile, Sam is a girl of the times who has no energy for clich d high school aspirations. After a huge blowup, Sam is desperate to get away from Priscilla, but instead, finds herself thrown back. Way back.

To her shock, Sam lands in the '90s . . . alongside a 17-year-old Priscilla.

Now, Sam has to deal with outdated tech, regressive '90s attitudes, and her growing feelings for sweet, mysterious football player Jamie, who just might be the right guy in the wrong era.

With the clock ticking, Sam must figure out how to fix things with Priscilla or risk being trapped in an analog world forever. Sam's blast to the past has her questioning everything she thought she knew about her mom . . . and herself. One thing's for sure: Time is a mother.

Brimming with heart and humor, Maurene Goo's Throwback asks big questions about what exactly one inherits and loses in the immigrant experience.

"I knew that Throwback would make me laugh out loud. But I was pleasantly surprised to find myself weeping by the book's close, so moved by Goo's story." --San Francisco Chronicle

"Filled with the vibes of the 1990s . . . a complete joy." --Buzzfeed

"A deft, delightful, and emotionally complex examination of intergenerational relationships." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"Sharp-witted humor and multidimensional characters." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Sit back and enjoy the ride . . . a delightfully adventurous story." --School Library Connection, Recommended Review

"Perfect for those looking for a lighthearted read." --Horn Book

"An arrestingly charming story with plenty of heart." --Booklist